Local school news

Center Grove Education Foundation awards scholarships

Center Grove students received thousands of dollars from the Center Grove Scholarship Fund, an affiliate of the Center Grove Education Foundation.

Here are the recipients:

  • Class of 1965 Vandy and Margaret Scholarship: Isaac Patrick Hagedorn and Breanna Elizabeth Motsenbocker
  • Leslie Cook-Dickerson Memorial Scholarship: Stephen Tyler Watson
  • Friends Forever Memorial Scholarship: Shelby Lynn Harris, Maxwell Stephen Galoozis and Taylor Michelle Dempewolf
  • Denney French History Scholarship: Madison Leigh Hodges
  • Band Boosters Scholarship: Madison Leigh Hodges
  • Texas Roadhouse Scholarship: Wilson Todd Smith
  • Carol and Dale Tumey Scholarship:  Nicole Margaret Kissler
  • Julie Anne Swengel Memorial Scholarship: Austin J. Daming and Spencer David Alexander
  • Optimists Club/Lee Webb Memorial Scholarship: Madelynn Jean Robbins and Morgan Elizabeth Rayner
  • Zachary Scott Schafer Memorial Scholarship: Connor M. Walsh and Jonah J. Hays
  • Rachael Hope Valentine Scholarship: Mary Katherine Hamilton, Dylan R. Hicks, Connor Lewis Minzes and Jenna Rachelle Walker
  • David A. Hicks Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Mitchell Cooley
  • Johnson County Community Foundation Endowment Scholarship: Akhil Isanaka and Peyton Lian Staab
  • Jarrod Tyler Poston Memorial Scholarship: Aaron James Gin
  • Pamela L. Todd Memorial Scholarship: Lauren MacKenzie Beckner
  • Marty Ernsting Memorial Scholarship: Gleason Leo Mappes
  • Judith A. Meeks Choral Music Scholarship: Wilson Todd Smith
  • Amy Dillman Black Memorial Scholarship: Melanie Keegan Shea
  • Kenzie Susanne Holubar Memorial Scholarship: Mackenna Rae Pruett
  • West Grove Honor Scholarship: Julia Ann Coons
  • Jean Allen Robertson Memorial Scholarship: Molly Noelle Williams
  • Sandra Hillman Early College Scholarship: Kylie Johnson
  • Flynn Family Music Scholarship: Wilson Todd Smith
  • Newport Family Robotics Scholarship: Madison Schnurpel, Reis A. Simpson and Jacob Gerard Lovrinic
  • Mike Ray Memorial Aviation Scholarship: Austin J. Daming

The following students were given Award of Excellence scholarships through the Center Grove Scholarship Fund: Cameron Michael Brooks, Aislynn Wilhelmina Chavali, Cali Mary Dillon, Megan Renee Dunn, Cameron Michael Fresher, William Theophilus Hanson, Joseph David Klaasen, Victoria Breanne Martin, Athena Grace Passafiume, Emily Anne Putman, Madeleine Diana Rassel, Madeline Claire Rau, Chitwan Saini, Sarah Simcox and Reece Michael Weilhamer.

Three local schools win awards

Three local high schools have won an award for their students’ performance on an advanced placement test.

Center Grove High School, Roncalli High School and Whiteland Community High School all won the Advanced Placement (AP) Award.  To be selected, schools must have at least 25 percent of their 2017 graduating class receiving a 3, 4, or 5 on an AP exam.

Center Grove had 31 percent of students earn the needed score, Roncalli achieved 51 percent and Whiteland had 28 percent of students earn the needed score.

Center Grove graduate earns scholarship

A 2017 Center Grove High School graduate earned a scholarship in remembrance of her father who donated his tissue after his death.

Madeline Weeks earned the scholarship from the Indiana Donor Network.

This scholarship is awarded to high-performing students with a direct connection to organ, tissue or eye donation and transplantation. Her father, Timothy Weeks, died in 2017 and became a tissue donor.

Greenwood resident graduates in the top of his class

A Greenwood teen graduated as the valedictorian of the Indiana Connections Academy.

Richard Ostergaard earned the top spot after enrolling in the academy in eighth grade. He served in student government and in National Honor Society.