Center Grove, Franklin students named to National Merit Semifinals

Six Johnson County students were named National Merit Semifinalists.

The students are among more than 16,000 semifinalists nationwide and include five students from Center Grove High School and one student from Franklin Community High School. From Center Grove, Grant Embrey, Gowthamm Mandala, Walker Millhoff, Micah Robertson and Zoey Vamey qualified. From Franklin, Morgan Harvey qualified.

The students, who reached this stage by scoring well on the PSAT, the precursor to the SAT exam, will have a chance to advance to the finalist round by submitting an application, including an essay and listing volunteer work. Roughly half of the semifinalists are chosen for the finalist round, and finalists will then have a chance to earn college scholarships, which are announced in the spring.

They will have the chance to attain a college scholarship through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.